Right height for your lathe?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fish30114

I am a newb I guess, I have a pretty good shop background, but I bought my first lathe about a month ago, with intentions on becoming a decent penmaker. The fellow that helped us out at Woodcraft measured me and the lathe we got--they had one in their demo shop--and told me my bench at 34" height would be perfect. Well it turns out that it is to high--I think...

I don't really know, but at the height it's at (Jet 1221 VS) it is making me bend my elbows up a good bit, I'm 5'10" tall, so my question is how do you determine the right height for your lathe?

Thanks for any feedback/suggestions.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wyone

I have asked the same thing.. and was told the center should be about elbow height. That said, I used a shopsmith for a while that was much lower and had ok success with it. I also have a midi lathe that is on my bench and a bit high, but still working fairly well. The grizzly lathe I have that is on the stand is about elbow height and is actually easier to turn on, at least for me.

I think it is more what FEELS right for you. The midi lathe height is fine for pens, but if I was going to try anything larger, I dont think it would be acceptable. The shopsmith worked but I did not realize how much easier it was to maintain proper angle of the lathe tool when it was at a better height. So, depending on what you are turning, in my opinion matters the most. Pens take a matter of minutes each, while a bowl might take 30 minutes, or more. Well in my case maybe WAY more. LOL

Once you get used to the height, you will love pen turning
I am sure.

ofd8001

First I too am new to turning, though I've got 20 years of "general" woodworking.