Question to bowl turners.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Rcd567

Rcd567

What tool or tools should I be looking at for turning the inside of the bowl? I've got scrapers, gouges, and skews, but know I should be using something else. Especially if I want to try hollow forms. The woodworking shop in my area carries a pretty good selection, but none of the clerks there are into turning so don't know much. I experience a catch this weekend and luckily only ended up with a bruised finger and a dull tool.

What say the members? I'm self taught, and not always in the right way. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Neal Addy

For regular open bowls a bowl gouge and scraper (round-nose is good) are good enough to start with. Hollow forms are a different animal.

I hollowed with a Sorby Multi-Tip for several years. It has limitations but is still a good entry-point into hollowing without breaking the bank. Their Hollowmaster is another good tool but I found the Multi-Tip more versatile.

I'd stay away from things like the smaller Sorby hollowers to start. They're cheaper and useful for some situations but I'd hate to try to hog out a lot of wood with them. You want something more substantial.

If or when you really get serious you may want to look at dedicated hollowing sets like Don Pencil, Monster Tools, Kelton, or Rolly Munro. Those are gonna cost a tad extra though. :biggrin:

Last edited:

markgum

use a bowl gouge with a finger nail grind for your bowls. I also picked up the Hunter #3 Carbid Hollowing tool. Talk about something that will hog out the center of a bowl in no time. That is one awesome tool.
Hollow forms are a bit different. I use a home made ground allen wrench to reach in and around the neck.(for my mini-turinings) Also have a mini hollow form set from SORBY. like them all.

marcruby