Question on moving up from slimlines

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I have made several slimline pens and a few gasby pens. What kits do you use or recommend to move up to learn click pens and fountain pens.
Remember I am still learning.
Thanks
Ron

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Gilrock

I like the Jr Statesman and Jr Gent II kits. You can get them in fountain pen or rollerball versions. What I like is that both kits take the same size tubes so you can create the cap and body sections and then decide whether to put them on the more expensive Jr Statesman kit or if you are unhappy with some aspect of them just stick them on the Jr Gent II kit.

alphageek

Former Moderator
I just got my first long click pens because they seem to look REALLY good so far and I like the longer blank available on this (like a zen).

Agree on the Jr Gent 2 series for fountain starter. If you get a REALLY good blank, you can step it up to a Jr Statesman if desired without changing anything.

mbroberg

IAP Activities Manager, Emeritus
Ron,

You'll be receiving a lot of opinions on this. Here's mine. The vast majority of click pens and fountain pens are not more difficult to turn than slimlines. In fact, a slimline, when turned straight without contours or bulges is one of the most difficult pens to turn because the barrels are so thin. If you can turn a slimline you can turn just about any other kit. There are some kits, I believe the European is one of them, that requires you to turn a tenon. You may want to stay away from those if your not comfortable with that. Otherwise, try a long clicker or any of the Jr. series kits.

Edit in: Gee, when I started typing this no one else had responded yet. :tongue:

Last edited:

juteck

Barons and Sedonas are also nice to move into for capped pens, and cigars for a different type of twist pen. For click pens, I'll vote for the long click as well.

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

jcm71