PSI Lifetime Guarantee on Gold Plating

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fingerworks

Hello everyone. I'm new to pen turning and new to this forum.

PSI offers a lifetime guarantee on all gold plated kit parts, including their 24k kits. Apparently PSI covers their gold with an epoxy coating to improve their durability. Is this something new that PSI is doing or have their 24k kits always been epoxy coated? Also, does anyone know if other companies also apply a protective coating on their gold parts? This seems like a great idea and apparently PSI is standing behind it in a big way. I checked the Customer Service link on the PSI site and here's a quote:

From PSI site:

"Lifetime Guarantee on Plated Components:
Penn State Industries guarantees that gold-plated components of specified pen, pencils and similar project kits will not tarnish, wear, or fade. This guarantee is limited only to the gold-plated components and does not apply to parts that are consumed by normal use of the product. Penn State reserves the option to replace the defective component, replace the project kit, or issue a monetary refund."

Appreciate anyone's first-hand insight,

Scott

Hi Ric,

Interesting question for your first post! ;-)

This issue is part of a bigger "hot potato", so I hope you don't mind if I handle it a bit carefully.

I first caught wind of the epoxy coating about two years ago. I do not believe that they have always used such a coating. I can't say it's been around longer than the two years I know about.