Problem with Woodcraft Hart Double Twist Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gcavin

Hello - Noob here. Although I've been a hobby woodworker for years, I just started pen turning last month (lathe for a Christmas present - hooray!). I had great luck with Wall Street II's and some slim lines, but ran into a problem with Hart double twist pens. I apologize for the lengthy submission, but I think I need to carefully explain the problem before asking for guidance/help.

The kit comes with two tubes - the longer tube is for the lower blank, shorter tube for upper blank.
HDT 1.jpg

The twist mechanism is supposed to go in the upper tube, pressed into the finale, then screwing into the middle spacer.

Unfortunately, the twist mechanism is not long enough to press into the finale and screw into the spacer - you can do one or the other but not both.

HDT 2.jpg

I called Woodcraft (they were very nice) and they said they were not aware of the problem, but would send me two new twist mechanisms. Those were received and were no longer than the ones that came in the kit, so the problem was not solved. After some google searching I found that the problem had been noted on another wood turner's site in 2019.

Has anyone else experienced this problem and if so, what was the solution? Any advice greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

Its really upsetting when instructions do not note tube lengths. The WC Hart Double twist is the Berea Hardwoods kit. Woodcraft sells Berea kits but renames them. It is the Berea Elegant American Ball Point Pen. Maybe looking at the Berea instruction will help. I've not made that kit so I cant be of help. Possibly the upper tube is too short. Check the "tube and bushing" chart and see if the tube length is wrong. Good LUck.
Do a good turn daily!
Don

jttheclockman