Pricing

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from hiharry626

hiharry626

Made a curly koa slim for a customer, I messed up drilling the clip end, so it looks crooked, the customer is buying it as a gift for somebody else.. Should I charge 10 or 15?

Attachments

• DSCN6426.jpg
    DSCN6426.jpg
    36.7 KB · Views: 205
  • DSCN6428.jpg
    DSCN6428.jpg
    39.6 KB · Views: 189
  • DSCN6431.jpg
    DSCN6431.jpg
    40.3 KB · Views: 202
  • DSCN6435.jpg
    DSCN6435.jpg
    41.8 KB · Views: 193
  • DSCN6436.jpg
    DSCN6436.jpg
    40 KB · Views: 225
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Hess

I take in the cost of the kit, bank, glue and other. xs by3 just to break even on most sl then charge 5 buck foe me. this alows me to replace the kit + 1 and blank pays for shop use and gives me some jingle. that only on SL anything esle it is what the market will bear

hiharry626

haha, okay pick one 10 or 15? I want to charge under 20 because I am still an apprentice pen turner, this is my 7th pen

toolcrazy

haha, okay pick one 10 or 15? I want to charge under 20 because I am still an apprentice pen turner, this is my 7th pen

One more thing to consider. If you charge them $10 or $15, then your customers will expect all your pens to be that price and you find it hard to raise the prices without them complaining. It doesn't matter if you are new to pen turning.

I agree with above, nothing under $20, in fact I don't charge less than $25 for a slim.

BTW, very nice pen.

Akula

Made a curly koa slim for a customer, I messed up drilling the clip end, so it looks crooked, the customer is buying it as a gift for somebody else.. Should I charge 10 or 15?

Do it over, I would never sell a messed up pen.

I know it suxs because it was KOA but that's not your customers fault.

Mark

I use the X3 method also.

It helps to cover all the little things I forgot to take into consideration.