Practice projects that didn't go ka-flooie!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from rwyoung

rwyoung

A while back I posted about my first attempt at making a small bowl and how the wall thickness got away from me. Ended up splitting and sending the two halves flying across the garage. Wheeee!

Well, I kept at it and now I have a small family of silly little bowls. One from maple, the rest from poplar. All the blanks are made up of 3/4" laminated to get a 5-1/2" x 5-1/2" by 1-1/2" thick blank. I don't yet have a scroll chuck so all done with a faceplate and waste block. Since I'm just learning how to do this, a couple ended up pretty shallow as I had to keep turning away the parts I goofed up. :rolleyes:

Lots of fun, even if this isn't the best material to practice with. But it is what I had at hand and is pretty cheap. If I can learn to make a nice end-grain scraping cut in something like fuzzy poplar, I hope I can do it in something better too.

All finished with just plain mineral oil.

(Seems the camera I borrowed has a hard time focusing close unless there is a strong vertical line in the frame. Sorry about that.)

Attachments

• bowl_001a_small.JPG
    bowl_001a_small.JPG
    33.5 KB · Views: 145
  • bowl_001b_small.jpg
    bowl_001b_small.jpg
    23.2 KB · Views: 138
  • bowl_002a_small.JPG
    bowl_002a_small.JPG
    42.7 KB · Views: 150
  • bowl_002b_small.JPG
    bowl_002b_small.JPG
    42 KB · Views: 130
  • bowl_003a_small.JPG
    bowl_003a_small.JPG
    24.1 KB · Views: 132
  • bowl_003b_small.JPG
    bowl_003b_small.JPG
    37 KB · Views: 128
  • bowl_004a_small.JPG
    bowl_004a_small.JPG
    23.9 KB · Views: 117
  • bowl_004b_small.JPG
    bowl_004b_small.JPG
    39.9 KB · Views: 165
  • bowl_005a_small.JPG
    bowl_005a_small.JPG
    27.6 KB · Views: 118
  • bowl_005b_small.JPG
    bowl_005b_small.JPG
    40.1 KB · Views: 130
  • bowl_006a_small.JPG
    bowl_006a_small.JPG
    23.6 KB · Views: 112
  • bowl_006b_small.JPG