polyurethane glue

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

knothole

using polyurethane glue the tubes are pushed out of the wood blanks how long do you have to watch the tubes so you can push them back and they will not move again. i hate to go off and leave the pen blanks and come back and find the tube is sticking out.i am new at this and am trying to learn .i can use any help

thanks

jack

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimGo

Jack,
You'll have to watch them 'till the glue cures. It usually cures about 24 hours after gluing. It makes for some sleepless nights, that's why most of us glue up MANY blanks at a time.

OK, sorry...just pulling your leg. You can try putting rubber bands around the blanks, or many of the other suggestions you'll find here, to keep the tubes from pushing out. Or, you can do like me and not worry 'bout it. I've glued up about 20-25 pens this way, and haven't had one push out yet. Just keep the blanks basically level, and if you are really concerned, check back about an hour after you've glued 'em up. At that point, the tube should still be movable, but the glue will have expanded about as much as it will.

Hope this helps!

Old Griz

Passed Away Oct 4, 2013
In Memoriam
And the absolute best fix for this problem is to use epoxy... [:p][}:)][;)]
This is the primary reason I stopped using poly glue.... I now use only 5 min or 30 min epoxy..

elody21

I agree with Old Griz!!!!!!! Epoxy is the way to go!!!! Try it, you'll like it!!!!! Sears has Devcon 5min 9 oz. in EACH bottle that is 18OZ for around $9.00!!!! How can you beat that!!!!!

Dario

I just bought DevCon 2 part syringe type 5 minute clear epoxy (25 ml)
from Walmart and it cost me $1.95 or so.

Not bad for trial purposes ;)

Paul Russell

Tom,

What brand of Epoxy do you use?