Poly Resin Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wizkid1st

I have tried pouring my own blanks with Castin' Craft Poly Resin from Hobby Lobby and was able to work with the stuff with good results except when I go to turn the blank... It turns like cutting glass... I have successfully made a few pens but I really don't like the way it turns. (leaves absolutely no room for error) My question is... Is Alumilite the same type of hardness? Is it easier to work with and if so... Which one? I was looking at their website and there are so many different flavors of clear.

Thanks in advance for any advise.

Bill

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Tim'sTurnings

I have no experience with Alumilite but I have done quite a few PR blanks. The brittleness may come from adding too much MEKP hardener. I usually use 3-4 drops per ounce and it works good for me. How many drops did you use?
Tim.

Last edited:

PenMan1

Alumilite does turn much easier, but requires more attention to mixing, and in my case at least, a pressure casting setup is absolutely essential.

Your problem with PR sounds like either way too much catalyst or dull tools. PR really likes sharp carbide tooling. As for the catalyst, in your area of Tennessee and the recent high levels of humidity, I would start with three drops of MEKP and work in 70 degree temperature. This means starting with resin and MEKP at 70 degrees.

Good luck.

frank123

In my experience, Alumilite is much tougher, not as hard, and easier to machine. It sets up quite a bit faster so it is not a forgiving during the mix and pour.

Last edited:

Jim Burr

Banned