Playing hookie!! I don't feel guilty!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from woodscavenger

Status
Not open for further replies.

woodscavenger

I played hookie today. Helped out with the kids and got some penturning time. This collage represents last night and today. This was a lot of fun. I did many things I have never done before.

The pens are:
1. Teachers pen in bloodwood, yellowheart and bocote per request.
2. Buckeye slimline....not sure if I like it
3. Spalted maple cigar in black chrome.
4. Bocote in black chrome.
5. Ligero RB. Cranberry acrylic. Unfortunately the walls are so thin it takes away nearly all of the speckled effect.
6. Ligero FP in banksia. My first Ligero after finally getting a drill bit. The nib is not as smooth as the Gentlemans but I only fiddled with it for a couple of words. I like this wood! I want more!
7. Birds-eye/curly maple slimline satin nickel set per request. The wood came from a clock her husband made years ago. He threw it away, she brought it to me for the gift set. I now realize that turning bushing-bushing is actually harder than addind a little curve and flair.

Thanks for looking! Comments, critiques and jokes are welcome.

DSC01973.jpg

Here is a better look at the Ligero FP.
DSC01975.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimGo

The Ligeros came out especially good, although fit-wise, they all look good. I like the texturing look to the Banksia, it almost looks like leather! The buckey's shape is interesting; the sharp angle you use actually reduces the negative impact of the wasp-waisted look to my eye, so I like it better than most (including several of my own!). For some reason, that spalted maple cigar looks huge!

Congrats on the shop time, too!

leehljp

Member Liaison