Picture Feedback

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jocat54

Gregg that's anice looking pen. Do you use a light box to take your pictures? They look like they could use some light. I am not a expert by any means. I built a light box out of a cardboard box and cut the sides and top out and then covered them with some white tissue paper. Then I place the lights on each side of the box. It really helped my photos but have a long way to go.

SDB777

Was the photo in question shot on a white background?

If so, you need to 'meter' on the background, save the settings the camera chose and then focus back on the pen to get the true color. If it was a gray background, disregard everything I just said.....

While a 'tent' will always give you a controlled enviroment, nothing beats the sun. Not many people do it anymore, but I can always tell a photo was taken outside in 'real light'.......

Scott (nice camera BTW) B

toddlajoie

From the looks of the reflections, you're using a relatively small light, mainly from the front, right. What's important to remember when taking photos of shiny things is the "pool table geometry", "Angle of incidence equals angle of reflectance", and when you have very shiny things, you will see the surroundings in the photos.

Now small light sources make sharp shadows, and small highlights that fall off quickly. That is why you can see the shadow cutout above your pen, and the highlight on the nib end stops about 1/2 way in. A larger light source will soften the edge of the shadow and make the highlight spread out, and this can be done by placing some diffusion material between the pen and the light, but it IS going to reduce the brightness of the light. It's a tradeoff of quantity to quality...