Pic Test - opinions please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

InvisibleMan

Hi all,

I'm working on my photo skills and would like feedback on this pic. I shot in RAW, so should be pretty workable (I hope!) I'm a complete novice. The shot was taken in my make-shift light tent with plain white paper as the backdrop:

Attachments

• Amboyna Burl Aero Pic Test.jpg
    Amboyna Burl Aero Pic Test.jpg
    39 KB · Views: 479
Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ghostrider

That looks pretty good to me.

I've been struggling with photographing pens myself, and that doesn't look to bad. I'm sure some of the more knowledgeable can give you some better feedback.

avbill

There is little separation between the white background and the pen. Are you using 2 lights / or are you using three lights. The third light from the back side of the tent will help separate the subject from your background.

InvisibleMan

There is little separation between the white background and the pen. Are you using 2 lights / or are you using three lights. The third light from the back side of the tent will help separate the subject from your background.

No light behind, buy I had the two side lights angled facing front to back. I moved them back and here's the result. I think better. I'll try to re-work my setup to get more light behind to see what happens.

Attachments

• Amboyna Burl Aero Pic Test 2 IAP.jpg
    Amboyna Burl Aero Pic Test 2 IAP.jpg
    40.8 KB · Views: 260
Last edited:

Rick P

That seperation is why I prefer a dark or black back ground when shooting against a solid back ground. Believe it or not you need more light to get the same effect with a light/white back ground. But ya did good!

seamus7227

That seperation is why I prefer a dark or black back ground when shooting against a solid back ground. Believe it or not you need more light to get the same effect with a light/white back ground. But ya did good!