pen mandrel

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Patrude

Sorry if I am in the wrong location here, anyone have suggestion for the best mandrel; is the mandrel saver made in Connecticuit getting any reviews. thanks, :redface:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stonyloam

is the mandrel saver made in Connecticuit getting any reviews. thanks, :redface:

Being as I am very new to pen turning, I got the PSI mandrel saver package and it has worked very well for me so far, like it very much. Turning between centers may very well be superior, but for a beginner I think the mandrel is just fine. Not that I know what I am talking about.:wink:

frank123

I'm relatively new to pen making and bought several (3) different mandrels at first in the quest for the perfect mandrel.

I finally bought a dead center for the headstock (had a live center that came with the lathe for the tailstock) and tried TBC.

I concluded that the perfect mandrel isn't a mandrel at all but centers. It's really easy to do turning between centers and the learning curve for using centers is about one pen.

A dead center on Ebay is only a few bucks and a live center if you don't have one costs less than most mandrels. If you have a machine supply house in your area you can pick the up locally and save that shipping and handling stuff.

(a cheap dial caliper helps in making sure what size you're at while turning, but you can work around it and do without if you want)

leehljp

Member Liaison
+1 on turning between centers, save what you would spend on a madrel, and buy TBC (Turn Between Center) bushings, and kits.
Where does one find TBC bushings?

I recommend Johnny's TBC bushings because they are turned to precision.