Pen Kit manufactures

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mdwilliams999

I have been turning pens on the side for the last 3 years and have used kits from WoodturningZ, PennState and Craft USA. I have an appreciation for for the pen kits that are made in Taiwan vs China. Most of the kits from Taiwan tend to have better fitting components and less irregularities seen in China kits. I have also found that the few kits from Craft USA seem really good as well.

I have some possible opportunities to take the side pen business to another level but want to make sure I am offering high quality pens. I expect that the new pens I offer will start in the low 100s. I am confident with my skills and tired of selling $30 pens.

Does anyone have experience with some of the other pen suppliers? I am trying to educate myself on quality differences and this seems harder than it should be. Berrea seems to have nice pens but the prices are obviously higher than say Penn State, and wondering if this is because of their name only, or because their products are really better made with higher quality finishes, better components, turn mechanisms etc. For example, Berrea has a "stylus" pen that sells for about 50% higher than Penn State.

Bottom-line: Has anyone had experience with multiple pen kit suppliers and can offer their experience regarding quality for the money.

Thanks,
Mike

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

pinelumber

pen kits

Look at Timberbits in Australia. Excellent prices Tiawan Pens Quick turnaround. I ordered on Friday from Michigan and delivered Monday at noon 9400 miles 4 days!! They get my money.

Dennis
Pinelumber:bananen_smilies104::RockOn:

Dan Masshardt

Many of us have tried many kits from many manufactures

The short answer is that it's not really based on the supplying company Most suppliers have cheap kits and higher quality kits And price isn't always the determining factor.