Pen for a 2 Star Army General

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi folks, I have been commissioned to make a pen for a two-star Army general (Corp of Engineers) who is turning 80 in March.
They asked for something "regal" and not an eagle, flag, rifle, etc.
Does anyone know where I can find a blank with the Corp of Engineers castle and 2 stars? Also, I'm new to the pen world and don't know kit names/styles very well. Which kit would you use?
Sorry, I know that's a lot to ask.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

egnald

Greetings from Nebraska. That is a tough one, "regal" is open to a pretty wide interpretation. Unless a Fountain Pen is preferred, I recommend using kit made for a "Parker" style refill or Rollerball over anything that uses "Cross" style refills. There are many options for blanks and kits available. I would suggest you look through the "Show Off Your Pens" forum for ideas on blank materials and kit styles.

If historical nature is more important than beauty, several outlets are available for Historic Woods from decking found on naval ships to barracks from military bases and other historic locations. For beautiful woods, I recommend doing a site search for the "Pretty Wood Voting" and looking at the various submissions for both a beautiful and regal looking blank material.

You might also find someone that has made blanks using the Corps of Engineers buttons (did you know they are the only branch of the Army that has unique buttons?)

Coming from a very uninformed position, I would give consideration to the "Majestic" kits from PSI and at some of the ultra rare woods that are available i.e. woods that have become banned from import and export due to their rarity i.e. vulnerable or endangered species. (Bois de Rose from Madagascar, any Dalbergia (True Rosewoods), or any Burls which are by their very nature very rare.