Pen cracking at the end's

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Pen Man

I have been turning for two years and all I make are pens.
I just noteiced that @ the end of the pens where the fittings go in there are a crack in some. I use barrow faceing tools on all, and A deburing tool. Should I be barrow faceing it into the tub a little more ?[V]

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jwoodwright

Without a photo to see the problem, usually the split is due to the nib being slightly crooked as you press it into the tube. Another is too thick plating on parts. Wood moves and too thin wood that was stressed can split.

Simple solution is use a countersink to slightly chamfer the edge of the tubes. Then ensure parts are pressed straight together[:)]

Great looking pens in your album! Very Impressive.[8D]

Fred in NC

It happened to me a couple times for the same reason John describes above. Heat from drilling and sanding can crack some woods too. Heat from curing glue is bad too!

I made a tool to clean the ends of the tube, and no more problems! The tool is a size "D" drill bit with a handle. The drill bit is .246" which fits right into the tube. It cleans any glue inside the ends of the tube.

G

Originally posted by Fred in NC
<br />It happened to me a couple times for the same reason John describes above. Heat from drilling and sanding can crack some woods too. Heat from curing glue is bad too!

I made a tool to clean the ends of the tube, and no more problems! The tool is a size "D" drill bit with a handle. The drill bit is .246" which fits right into the tube. It cleans any glue inside the ends of the tube.

Fred-
What are you doing for pens other than slim lines?
I am getting fed up with my mills.
There HAS to be something better!

Fred in NC

Eagle, most of my problems have been with slimlines. It is easier to get into larger tubes to clean them.