PC pendant

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from CaptG

CaptG

OK, we all knew it was coming. This is my first attempt at putting pc on a pendant. There is no backing plate, it is all pc. Kind of rubbery, I don't really like it, but it is a start and gives me ideas. The next will be on turned pendents and one sided. This is one pendent, showing both sides. It is sanded but no finish. This is how this one will end, put up in the shop for inspiration as I improve the next one. All comments and any ideas for improvement are always appreciated. Thanks for looking.

Attachments

• pendant pc 005.jpg
    pendant pc 005.jpg
    62.1 KB · Views: 204
  • pendant pc 006.jpg
    pendant pc 006.jpg
    68.7 KB · Views: 212
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

holmqer

Local Chapter Leader
Looks great, I am pondering what if anything would be a good backing material. Would most wood be charred by the PC baking temps?

CaptG

What about a metal insert? Then cover the whole thing in pc?

I have thought about that, but I think it might be easier to turn a plastic pendant, nylon or something like that, and then cover it with the pc. It would be a lot easier than cutting the metal and drilling the hole.

Toni

GARY!! Its EXCELLENT!! The reason its rubbery/flexible IS because the base is thin. When you make a pendant the base should be thick. But you can place it on a filigree thingy if you want.

CaptG

GARY!! Its EXCELLENT!! The reason its rubbery/flexible IS because the base is thin. When you make a pendant the base should be thick. But you can place it on a filigree thingy if you want.

OK, I can picture the filigree part, its the thingy I can't quite picture. ???? :)

CaptG

Mud is not clear!! :question::question:

DUUUHHHH .............. OK, before I make you mad and you cut off my cane supply, does the filligree come in sheets, pre-cut designs, do I have to make it??? This is new to me Oh great Darth Toni, let the force be with me (and not from a stick).

Toni