Paper Towel Fibers in CA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MAB11

I've tried using paper towels to apply my CA and I always get little fibers from the paper towels stuck in it. I've tried kitchen and shop paper towels with the same result. I started using sandwich bags to apply the CA. It works ok but not as smooth as paper towels. Any ideas?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DurocShark

This is why some of us use BLO. A bit more forgiving of the paper towel.

If you're still getting grabby, try changing your lathe speed. Faster or slower by 500rpm or so.

Also try adjusting the amount of finger pressure you're using. More or less.

Eventually you'll find the sweet spot...

Drstrangefart

Normally I like to take some fine grit sandpaper between coats of CA to help smooth things out and get rid of flaws that may occur. I'm still learning how to get a good CA finish, tough, so take that for what it's worth to you.

bobleibo

You may be leaving the towel against the blank a bit too long and like Don said, using a bit too much pressure. Try putting a pretty liberal amount of CA on the towel then only leave it on the blank long enough to coat it, using a pretty quick pass, then take it off. It only takes a second or two to cover the blank and the CA won't dry enough to grab the towel.
I learned by lots of trial and lots more error.
Good luck....
Cheers
Bob

timcbs

Don't use paper towels, there is more then one way to apply CA to a Pen, I use 8 coats of Med CA, put a small baggie over my finger smooth it out a best as you can, when you feel the baggie starting to put off your finger stop, then hit it with Accelerator and you are ready for the next coat, try not to use to much Accelerator. after you are done with all 8 coats let it sit for a couple of hours and then cut of the excess and start sanding smooth, micro-mesh to 12K. now you have a Finnish that is about 100 times better then the paper towel method....

DurocShark