North East USA trip - wood sources?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sparkydc

Hi guys

I'm pretty much a newbie here; hope I'm posting in the right place.

Next week the wife and I will be doing a road trip, starting in Washington, popping into Delaware then to Philadelphia, then up to Brewster, NY. Then we're driving up to Carroll, NH, then down to Cape Cod, and departing from Boston.

So here's the tall order.

Of course I can't describe precise routes here, but they'll be fairly close to what the SatNav recommends. Can anyone suggest any possible en route drop-ins where I might be able to acquire some nice pen blanks - local stuff, burl, whatever? I'm not averse to going off the beaten track a little! I hate to think I might unknowingly breeze past numerous treasure troves. Grateful for any suggestions...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

monophoto

1. Berkshire Lumber near Great Barrington, MA is a dealer in specialty timbers, and they have an extensive selection of turning blanks.
2. Vermont Bowl Company in Wilmington, Vt is a sells 'drops' from their bowl making shop as 'kindling'. Maple, birch, and walnut, typically in small sizes and often cross grain.
3. J. K. Adams in Dorset, Vt is a treenware manufacturer. Similar to Vermont Bowl, they sell 'kindling that is wood that is flawed beyond their QC control. Maple and ash, but often in fairly large sizes.

robertkulp

If you're around Ischua, NY, look up William Fourness. He runs the Wood Turning Stock For Sale group on FB and has some incredible black cherry burl and other wood.

He's posted his address and phone number as...

William Fourness
1500 Yankee Hill Road
Ischua, NY 14743
(716) 557-8360

duncsuss

These are a couple that I know of, although I haven't been to either myself I've had recommendations from members of my turning club.