Non-shop essentials?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dhammis

Greetings all,

I'm just getting into this hobby/vortex of woodturning and specifically penmaking and even though I'm pretty new with less than a dozen finished pens under my belt I'm noticing that I'm accumulating a lot of stuff. :)

Each time I make a pen it seems like I find a new thing that I want or can find useful to have for the shop.

My question to the more experienced members of the group is this though:

What non-shop items have you found essential to have in your shop?

I've found that a simple pair of scissors for cutting paper towel and sandpaper strips was incredibly handy, as is a sharpie for marking the blanks before cutting them. I also got an organizer to hold tools, pen/pencil kits, glue, finishing supplies, blanks, etc.

Looking forward to everyone's input. I have learned a lot from these forums so I appreciate everyone's advice.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fred

A large counter-top arrangement. Electrical outlets every three feet or so and each on a separate circuit. A pencil sharpener. Pencils and lots of them. Paper and pads. Unbreakable storage jars. A small refrigerator. Shelves, shelves, and more shelves. Mobile tool carriers. BRIGHT lighting all over the place. Tall ceilings. Heater. Fans. A tool cabinet within reach of the most used device (lathe??) Rags, dust drags. A metal can with lid to dispose of used oily rags (Metal to prevent a possible fire). A broom. A vacuum cleaner to use with the broom ... gads the list goes on and on and on

rherrell

Toothpicks and Q-tips. I use toothpicks for applying small amounts of glue or epoxy or ANYTHING for that matter. Q-tips are great for cleaning the inside of tubes before final assembly.:wink:

Oh yeah, wax paper. I use it under anything that I glue up.

Last edited:

robutacion

A roll of good paper towels fixed to a wall on hung from the ceiling somewhere...!'
A box of later gloves for those messy jobs.