Newbie Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Bill Arnold

In an effort to make sensible purchases to begin making pens, I'm checking vendor sites along with some of your websites. I've found a few answers to questions by checking the archives on this forum; i.e., mandrels, kit sources, etc. What do you use for assembly and disassembly of pens?

I saw this item on PSI, but it seems a bit pricey at about $43.
PENPRESS3.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wpenm

I have been using that same press for about 4 years now. I only use it for the pens that use the Cross refills. I use my wood vise for all others. It is a good press, but if I were starting over I would just make some spacer blocks for my vise and use the money for more pen kits or blanks. Just my thoughts. Have fun.

heinedan

Pen Press

Bill,

Check out the post in this section from Paul Huffman - vice update/sneak peek. Paul makes a pen press that is the very best money can buy. He also makes a vice for holding your blank and frilling it that will last at least a couple of lifetimes. I have both, and love them. I went through 3 pen vices from Woodcraft and Rockler before buying Pauls's. Save money over the long run, and buy the best!!!!

Good Luck,
Dan

Russianwolf

do you have a drill press already? You can use it to press pen together by making a simple wooden insert for the quill. This is what I use, and have never had an issue with it. I like the fact that the pen is upright and near eye level so I can see how it's going together and make any needed adjustments.

The insert I made is a simple stepped dowel with one end small enough to fit in the chuck and the other about an inch in diameter (Mine is cocobolo since that's what I had laying around).

Bill Arnold