Newbie here

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rocky1247

Just started turning in February. Just retired and decided I needed something to do. I have to room to get organized. Take a look at my website. It is still under construction. Any advise is appreciated.
Thanks
Rocky

Home

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Welcome Rocky
Love your shop, but you obviously spend all your shop time organizing rather than turning. I don't see a spec of sawdust anywhere. :)

Rocky1247

Just received some logs rom my neighbor. They are
[*]Sugar Maple
[*]Wild Cherry
[*]Black Walnut
[*]Pin Oak
[*]Red Oak

What do I need to do, before I can use them for pens.
They range from 3" diameter to 6" diameter

magpens

Welcome to IAP !

Just received some logs rom my neighbor. They are
[*]Sugar Maple
[*]Wild Cherry
[*]Black Walnut
[*]Pin Oak
[*]Red Oak

What do I need to do, before I can use them for pens.
They range from 3" diameter to 6" diameter
Cut them !!! :biggrin: 3/4" x 3/4" x 5" approx (that's a standard size for bought pen blanks) - the length can be less (as short as your pen kit tube plus a little bit) or more, depending on your preference.

mmayo

Rocky you have too much room and I think you should share some of it with me. My shop is a two car garage filled with two cars every night. It still is fun every day I can move out the cars and make something.

Fish30114

Welcome to the addiction support forum! Rocky, I think the first thing you need to do with those logs is figure out how much moisture is in them. You can search the web for accurate intel on what the moisture level should be to reduce cracking from shrinking or swelling--of course if you go to the time and expense if stabilizing them that will eliminate that concern--I like doing some stabilizing, but it is pretty costly to do.

Add me to the jealous of your shop group, always gives me ideas of my next home/shop--maybe my last....

CaptainJane

I love Salado