Newbie finishing question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

meshel

I'm kind of new to pen turning, and I feel that where I need to enhance my knowlege and skill the most is finishing - which I believe in pens is most of the work (obviously everything depends on the prior work).

My question is this: last night I decided to do some experimentation. I took a piece of Carob (some scrap I had), divided it to three sections, turned and sanded it nice and smooth (320).
Then on each section I applied a different finish oils - BLO, Olive oil, Friction Polish.
let it soak and dry for a while, and then applied wax and carnauba - to each section half and half, and buffed a little with a rag.

For the life of me, I cant find any difference between the three!!! is there anything wrong with me?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tseger

I'm sure not an expert on this subject, but I think where the big difference is gonna show up is how the different finishes hold up during use, over time.

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
Originally posted by meshel
<br />I'm kind of new to pen turning, and I feel that where I need to enhance my knowlege and skill the most is finishing - which I believe in pens is most of the work (obviously everything depends on the prior work).

&lt;My question is this: last night I decided to do some experimentation. I took a piece of Carob (some scrap I had), divided it to three sections, turned and sanded it nice and smooth (320).&gt;

from what you describe I wondered what the results of your experiment were meant to prove.
Many times( based on the results of my skew) I START sanding with 320 and continue to 400 then procedeing through the nine grits of MM and finishing up with a brown paper bag sanding accoss the grain and cleaning the clank with compressed air before proceding to the next grit.
The 3 substances you applied will undoubtedly "pop" the grain and the carnauba wax will make it shiny .