New turner looking for advice!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jonunder

I got my lathe exactly one week ago and have all the tools to turn pens and a pack of Rosewood and Zebra wood blanks. I am looking for ways to get cheap blanks because as a college student I don't want to be throwing money away. Any suggestions? I am very excited for the future and glad to be a part of this forum so far I like it a lot!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

robutacion

I got my lathe exactly one week ago and have all the tools to turn pens and a pack of Rosewood and Zebra wood blanks. I am looking for ways to get cheap blanks because as a college student I don't want to be throwing money away. Any suggestions? I am very excited for the future and glad to be a part of this forum so far I like it a lot!

G'day,

Welcome to the "madness"...!

If I was you, I would keep those blanks for later and get some practise wood, any old piece of pine or other bits you can lay your hands on, are great to get used to the tools and the finishes. You don't have to have square pieces with the exact average pen blank, dry branches that are at least 1" round, will make you a pen barrel to practice on.

As for cheap blanks, well, it all depends of what type of finish pens you are after, being a student I wouldn't get involved with any stabilising and or casting, leave that for later in the meantime, look at some members here that sell blanks here and other places, like eBay and Etsy, etc...!

A good mix bag of various wood, is a great start, you get used to know names and recognise the woods, try different densities, colours and grains.

Don't worry about those very expensive blanks and fancy names, you have plenty of time to get those, as you will one day have the space, time and money to play with ways to make your own blanks, using resins, etc...!