New to Turning.. Advice needed

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Roos85

Hey Guys, I have been working with a buddy of mine for a few months now... I have been doing the cutting, drilling, gluing and all the other prep work to get it on the lathe. I finally bought a lathe and I am going to start turning my own pens now. What tool should I start with? Regular chisels? A carbide cutter? Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

fiferb

My 2 cents, start with whatever you feel comfortable with. I use a 3/4" roughing gouge from start to finish and can get a very smooth finish. You don't need expensive tools to make a pen.

76winger

And I almost exclusively use a skew to to round off and turn down my pens. So there's two different ways. Someone will be along shortly with another way! :biggrin:

Carl Fisher

I use a roughing gouge for getting it round and roughly to size and finish with a carbide scraper. I use a skew from time to time but it's not my go-to tool "yet".

So there's a 3rd way :)

jedgerton

You are going to get a lot of different opinions. Here is mine. Get the HSS turning set from Harbor Freight (about $40, maybe less on sale). You will need to learn to sharpen them if you go this route. The next route I would suggest would be getting a carbide insert tool like that sold by IAP member bitshird (Ken). I use one of Ken's tools for almost everything but I still go back to that old inexpensive Harbor Freight set for certain things.

There, now are you as confused as I am?

John

JimB

If you have been doing all that prep work for your buddy, haven't you turned a pen? Use his tools to do some turning to find out what works best for you.

Roos85

If you have been doing all that prep work for your buddy, haven't you turned a pen? Use his tools to do some turning to find out what works best for you.