New to the association

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

pap2544

Hello all, I just recently joined the association and was looking for some advice. Although I am not new to turning I am new to making pens. So far I have really enjoyed making the few I have. My question is this, if I am going to start selling pens I don't want to use cheap parts. I am probably going to start with slim pens (for now). Who should I buy from. Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Welcome, Pat. You have a lot of good vendor choices for slims. Woodcraft, Woodturningz, Bear Tooth Woods, and Craft Supplies USA (CSUSA) to name a few. I think the greatest concern with slim kits is the plating, especially if you intend to sell your wares.

Fred

Welcome to the IAF, Pat. Very glad to have you join up with the fine folks here.

Definitely watch the different platings as it makes ALL the difference in the world. Higher priced kits are usually better plated metal parts. Do a SEARCH for "platings" and see what is within the Forum archives. The SEARCH link is above. :D

PenWorks

Welcome Pat, :) you know what happens to the last guy who joins the association don't you?
You are now the acting president of the association for a month and have to send all the memmbers free pen blanks. If you miss just one member, you are banned.:) Sorry, someone has to bust your chops :D

igran7

Welcome to the group Pat. There are several vendors available for high quality kits. Proud papa of 2 mentioned a few but don't forget Arizona Silhouette, Penn state Industries,& Rockler. If you intend to sell you might want to avoid any pen plated in 24k gold, or 10k gold.

RonInSpringTX

howdy Pat from TX. Welcome to the craziness!!! Cool on the slimline, but believe me, you'll want to expand!!! Igran7 is right on the Penn State Industries, Rockler, & Woodcraft, but I just got a new catalog (well, actually it had my wife's name on it...