New to Penturning

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Cosmo7809

Hello, my name is Chris from NYC.

I am sure you have gotten several related threads as mine, but I wanted to make my own to ask some more detailed questions.

Although I do have some experience when it comes to tools and general construction I am a complete novice when it comes to woodworking.
As a starter to my new woodworking hobby I would like to get into penturning. Over the course of the last few weeks I have been softly researching the hobby.

First and foremost, I need a lathe. At first I considered a Harborfreight or Craftsman Lathe. But due to seeing quite a few "stay away" threads and posts I have looked else where. My father always told me "Buying cheaper costs you more" and I think that falls true when it comes to lathes as well.

Upon some more research I came across this Basic Pen Making Starter Set with Turncrafter Commander 10" Multi Speed Midi Lathe at Penn State Industries It seems like well the Turncrafter Commander is a favorite among new penturners. The reason why I am leaning towards the "Starter Kit" above is because well... its a starter kit. I like how it includes just about everything to get started pen turning the day the package is delivered.

I have some questions regarding the lathe itself. Obviously it will be good for penturning, but what about other woodworking related things like making a small bowl, wood beads, pill canisters and etc. I am trying not to get ahead of myself, but I would like to know that I have the capability for the future. Also, is the lathe itself good? (Please note: While I do not have a problem spending $$$ on quality I do still have a budget of around 350-400)

For now, that is all about I can think of. In the meantime I will continue to check out the "Library" section above.

Thank you, Chris

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Atherton Pens

Just a few thoughts about the starter kit....