New member response

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Firstly,thankyou for the warm welcome from various members.
As someone new to pen turning the scope of information and experience now available to me is somewhat overwhelming!

Looking through the gallery I am stunned by both the skills displayed
and the time put in to achieve the results.
It would seem that even at a basic level one is going to struggle to recover costs.

I have a number of queries and this may not be the right category to ask them?
1.Bushes a bit sloppy on mandrel leading to body being a little out of round at junctions.Are better quality available or do you have to make your own?
2.Pen kits here are Chinese or Taiwanese. Comments on the quality of these and what else is available out there?
3.Although I am a professional wood worker, how to accurately machine tiny pieces of wood?
Tiny machines?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

@Stuart Robertson
It would seem that even at a basic level one is going to struggle to recover costs.

I have a number of queries and this may not be the right category to ask them?
1.Bushes a bit sloppy on mandrel leading to body being a little out of round at junctions.Are better quality available or do you have to make your own?
2.Pen kits here are Chinese or Taiwanese. Comments on the quality of these and what else is available out there?
3.Although I am a professional wood worker, how to accurately machine tiny pieces of wood?
Tiny machines?
Commenting, very briefly and inadequately, about your comments and questions . . . but it's a start.

Making pens is not a "get rich" proposition ! . . You can recover costs, and a little beyond that, as long as you're not trying to get paid for your time according to industrial wage scales ! ! !

Question 1. . . Dispense with bushings and mandrel; use the "Turning between centers method" . . details are in IAP Resources . . or ask