New member - help on pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

feeneypens

Hi everyone. I'm a new member. I've been making pens as a hobby now for a few years and having TONS of fun (I attached some pics of some of my work) but noticed that my creativity is hindered by my lack of tools and knowledge. For instance, I have seen some pen makers make a pine cone blank by stabilizing a pine cone core. While I have made many pine cone pens, it is painstakingly hard at times because sometimes the core of my pine cone just gets ripped right out of the center and I have to use a bunch of sawdust as filler (takes forever). Any suggestions?
Best,
Mike

Attachments

• image-677243427.png
    image-677243427.png
    847.8 KB · Views: 286
  • image-2994523245.png
    image-2994523245.png
    401.2 KB · Views: 207
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctubbs

Welcome Mike, from far west Kentucky, to the addiction, sometimes referred to as the vortex. Be sure to give the library a good bit of time. The link is at the top of the page. You will find an article called Library Index. This covers tutorials on about anything pen making you can think of. You will also notice that there are articles listed by year. Much good info there as well. When these fail to answer your questions, by all means post it here. I have never seen one go unanswered very long. You might also want to give this thread a good look. It has some very good info for the beginning pen turner; http://content.penturners.org/library/general_reference/Getting_started_in_pen_turning.pdf. Grab some wood, make some shavings and have fun all the while being safe.
Have a look at the series of videos ed4copies has just posted showing how to complete a pen from drill to finish.