Need help with final sanding!!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Acornelius

I'm new to pen making, and this is about the best finish I can get. I'm starting with 150 grit, then 220, 320, 400, 500 and 800. I do a final polish with 0000 steel wool. Then CA 6 times, re-sand with 2000 grit paper and use a friction polish.
What do I need to do, or what am I missing?

Thanks,

Hope the image uploads!

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

NewLondon88

Local Chapter Leader
The CA is going to be a lot harder and longer lasting than a friction polish,
so you may want to eliminate that step. If you're going to apply a finish,
you might want to stop after the 400 so that you don't seal the wood.
This gives the finish a chance to penetrate the wood and bring out any
figure, as well as allowing the finish to get inside and bond to the wood
fibers rather than reside on the top where it can flake off.

After the 2000, I would probably go to a plastic polish.

BUT .. there's probably as many techniques as there are pen makers..

Lenny

Just my personal opinion ....
Sand with the various grades up to 800 (and even higher, 1000, 1200, 1500) but before going on to each next grit, stop the lathe and hand sand in the direction of the grain. Eliminate the steel wool! Others MAY disagree but I have never been a fan of steel wool on bare wood! Apply several coats of CA .. I like to use thin for the first 3 coats then medium until I'm happy with the thickness of build up. Don't be afraid to give it a squirt of excellerant between coats. Now, use micro mesh pads (I like the large ones froM WoodnWhimsies ... I cut them in half and have a spare set in waiting) ... they last a long time. Use them to wet sand your CA finish going through all the grits. When you are done you should have a nice smooth pen. Next I use Novus 2 then Plastx .... you could also use Plastic Polish OR Buff on a buffer, (See Texatdurango's article on buffing)
hth

hunter-27

Passed Away Aug 14, 2013