My latest pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from SarabbyCreations

I'm new to pen turning, so constructive critique is appreciated.

Christian

Attachments

• DSC01457.jpg
    DSC01457.jpg
    43.2 KB · Views: 208
  • DSC01455.jpg
    DSC01455.jpg
    45.1 KB · Views: 199
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

seamus7227

Nice pen! however, i prefer the background with the rock over the painting, it seems to drown out the pen more than the rock does. just my .02

ctubbs

Good job on the pen. Keep up the good work. Do not worry about giving a bargain on the first one you sell. Many have already done that before you.
Charles

Polarys425

Yeah, it takes a little time to work up your confidence to the point where you feel your work is worth more.

The only thing i think i see askew on that pen might be bushing alignment, or the hole drilled for the tube was oversize. Otherwise, nice kit selection, and a nice blank.

What finish did you put on it?

wiset1

Price is a factor of what you feel your time and effort are worth, not what the overall kit and material cost you. There will always be someone who will notice the beauty in your craft and pay your asking price. I was once told by my art teacher...if my paintings dont sell at the asking price, RAISE IT! Really though, work out an asking price for each pen prior to showing and then ask youself how low you WOULD sell it for if someone was on the edge. I sell my pens starting at $120 and up because that's what I think my time is worth and when I use blanks from Curtis it's easy to get that asking price. I always throw is the leather or wood display case with it to include info about the kit and wood used. I learned a lot from members of this forum and reading the books from Barry Gross, his acrylic DVD is awesome as well. See the links below for ideas from my pens. Congrats and best wishes

Bobalu