Mini Wax Poly and Pre-Stain

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Squeaky1

I am new to pen making so here are my first pens making.

I watched the video using Mini Wax Poly from the library. I also watched mini wax video and they talk about Pre-Stain by MiniWax.

If I am not staining the pen just applying the miniwax poly to give it a nice finish is it necessary to use the Pre-stain?

I do have some blanks that would look better stained should I use the Pre-stain on them before I apply the Mini wax stain. I would do step #3 and then apply the miniwax poly.

I am more familiar with mini wax but I not sure if I am missing something by watching the two different videos.

I am using Gorilla Glue for the the tubes.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

monophoto

The primary reason Min Wax produces how-to videos is to sell Min Wax products.

That said, I do like to put a sanding sealer under Min Wax WOP. The sealer helps fill the pores in the wood to produce a smoother surface, and also a more uniform WOP application. I use Zinsser shellac-based sealer.

TonyL

I am very thankful for your (plural) post. I am literally 6 inches from a small can of Minwax Fast-Drying Polyurethane (clear gloss). I purchased it Friday night at HD after speaking to a very experienced member about alternative and perhaps more durable finishes. I would love to hear more about your experiences and will research other posts. In the meantime. I will follow the directions on the can :).

Ross

I don't normally stain my pens but I do quite often use stain on carvings. The pre stain helps prevent splotching when applying the stain. you simply apply the pre stain then apply the stain and rub it out until you get the result you want. The pre stain helps prevent end grain absorbing too much stain and ending up being way too dark.

Squeaky1

I put 4 coats of mini wax poly. Each time I sanded it using a fine sandpaper. The blanks are coming out looking better.

Jim Burr

Banned