micro bubbles

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

joeatact

I get lots of microscopic bubbles at curing stage... lots! There seemed to be none to start with when its sitting in the mold, but only after 7-10mins in they all come out stuck to the artrwork or sticker. I have covered my artwork with matt modge podge?

Course I am new at this any ideas?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

When I use modge podge I use the glossy. Matte finish means a bit rough...as in not smooth...and little bubbles like to stick to rough surfaces.

Fill the tubes with play dough...expells the air. air is the enemy.

on what is the art work printed?label? What number? what brand? Yes, it does make a difference. What is the sticker?

Are you painting PR on the labels/;tubes prior to casting?

Have you tried painting catalyzed PR onto the tubes/;abels and letting it cure before casting?

Do you heat the resin to thin it for easier escaping of air? do you vibrate or use ultrasonics?

Lots of variables...lots of enemies. I do wish it were an exact science.
Do a good turn daily!
Don

I get lots of microscopic bubbles at curing stage... lots! There seemed to be none to start with when its sitting in the mold, but only after 7-10mins in they all come out stuck to the artrwork or sticker. I have covered my artwork with matt modge podge?

Course I am new at this any ideas?

atomic ray

Indeed. I have coated thousands of labels while in the military...electronics serial numbers. And most were then encapsulated in resin.

The process started with the labels being set and sealed with resin. Once cured then the item was further treated.

When I tried the set the labels and then encapsulate without the resin skin layer it nearly always lifted and bubbled.

Perhaps this was your culprit? As mentioned before by virgil, seal the label with resin first.

Good luck!

Raymond :bananen_smilies027:

joeatact

Thanks guys will give it a try.