Many different finishes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JAB1

Ok guys.......I am fairly new to penturning......about a year now...there are so many different wqys to finish a quality pen....

So far, I have used the following methods: 1) Hut wax sticks 2) Hut Crystal Coat 3) EEE Ultrashine 4) CA/Blo 5) Mylands Polish 6) Ren Wax7) Shellac 6) Nothing

Each method seems to have its own characteristics. I have read Russ Fairfields comments on finishing.....makes sense....

What finish do you find that makes the most sense?...ie...least time and effort....good , lasting quality......

Also, what finish do most buyers want?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

Here are my comments, for what they are worth:
(1) HUT wax sticks: Not acceptable..as is most any wax...not worth the effort.
(2)HUT Crystal Coat: not acceptable along with other friction polishes. Several penturners do like friction polishes, but I don't find that the finish lasts after the pen is used. I've heard it said that a friction polish fininsed pen has been used for months or even a year or so and it still looks the same as when it was first made. I've yet to see one that does...It has never happened for me. Friction polish always seems to fade a short time after the pen is put into use.
(3)EEE Ultrashine: Not a finish but a polishing compound. It is essentially tripoli ground into a powder and mixed with a paste base. EEE(tripple E) and tripoli... sounds the same to me.'
(4)CA and Boiled Linseed Oil: The best finish I've found if the look it gives is the look one is seeking.
(5)Mylands (friction) Polish: see #(2)...these are shellac based and shellac doesn't like moisture...it on our skin.
(6)Ren Wax: Not a finish but more of a protectorant. It is used as a top coat over the finish used. I'm not a fan of Ren Wax...but it is widely used.
(7) Shellac: nuff said in (2) and (5)