Mandrel sticks in Headstock

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

John D. Ernst

I am new to this hobby and have had a strange problem with the mandrel sticking in the headstock. I purchased a new Jet variable speed mini lathe (Model JML-1014VSI) and the appropriate mandrel from a local Woodcraft store. After turning the pen blank, I can only remove the mandrel by striking the knockout rod with many vigorous blows with a hammer. I returned the mandrel to the Woodcraft store and we inserted and removed it with no problem in a comparable Jet mini lathe in their workshop. Any suggestions?:confused: Thanks!:) John Ernst

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
A guess: you are overtightening your tailstock to the mandrel.

When you tried the one at WoodCraft, you probably did not turn anything on it. As you tighten the tailstock, the MT is forced into the headstock. This is normal. Make yourself a wood mallet to hit your knockout rod. Not unusual.

Majorbdk

I would question if you are turning pens that are out of round. I found that when I over-tighten the tailstock, that I would get out of round pens. The mandrel would bow. I replaced the mandrel rod and just tighten enough to lock the mandrel in place. Just a suggestion and thoughts that might help. Good luck.

randyrls

John; Indeed, Ed is correct, the tail stock is only there to keep the end of the mandrel from whipping around and "walking" out of the MT taper. Once seated, the taper will hold itself in. I only tighten the tail stock gently, and then tighten up the brass mandrel nut. Wiggle the mandrel to loosen the seat of the taper to remove. Be careful about the point of the tail stock. It hurts if you run your hand into it!

You may want to check the inside of the head stock taper for any burrs, grooves, or rough spots. Use a flashlight to spot any trouble spots.

jleiwig