Lost Interest

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jack barnes

How does a person regain interest in pen turning? Last Nov I did a craft fair and since then I've only turned a couple pens, start several and never finish them. Has anyone else had this happen to them?

Jack

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

igran7

All the time Jack.
I've been turning pens for about 5 years and I've had spouts where I just didn't want to even look at the shop, much less turn a pen. I try to keep things "fresh" by trying new designs, new (to me) concepts or different pen kits. By doing this it keeps the addiction going.

Jack,
Mix it up a little, have you ever turned bottle stoppers or pepper mills?? I have just started learning about both and find them very interesting projects. There is a lot of free info on the web about both. And when the the learning curve gets frustrating you will find it pure pleasure to turn a few pens again!!!
Gary

JohnU

I agree with Joe, try new things and look around the internet for some fresh ideas. Everytime I get bored, I look at the Gisi's web page. I also got into casting which opened up many new ideas. Good luck!

leehljp

Member Liaison
Many people need to find their niche. For me, initially it was the joy of discovery AND the finished pen. Now, it is the creative forces along with the journey of making a pen.

Some people are motivated by the sale, by the people interaction, by the compliments of others in their creation.

But some give it up altogether when they find out it is not their "cup of tea." I hope you don't! I find that when I have to make 4 or 5 pens in a few days, I don't want to touch them again for a month. For me, the journey of making each pen and analyzing each step is my relaxation. I don't like my pen turning time crowded with pressure - even if it DOES mean $100.00 profit in my pocket.

Last edited:

ldb2000

Hi Jack