less-mandrel vs mandrel-less?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rick_lindsey

How much of the benefit from mandrel-less turning would you get by simply using less mandrel? I'm not a production turner by any stretch of the imagination, so I can afford the time to adjust the length of my mandrel to suit a single barrel at a time, would the benefits of this approach be similar to turning between centers?

-Rick

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Russianwolf

They sell adjustable mandrels for just this purpose. the shorter the mandrel, the less likely it will deflect. But eliminating the mandrel all together eliminates the possibility even further.

If your mandrel has a bow in it, even at 4 inches long, it may cause some out of round barrels.

leehljp

Member Liaison
Going Mandrel-less is not about saving time (for production work or as a hobby either one), but in eliminating some of the hassle of figuring out where the cotton picking OOR/oval problems are coming from, along with solving some finish problems associated with bushings (the main reason I switched.)

Things are much more complicated on a mandrel, long or short. The vast majority of oval/OOR pens come from something related to mandrels - PERIOD. Nothing to do with time production; everything to do with better chances for a nicer pen. If a person is very adept at keeping his lathe and equipment well tuned, he may not experience OOR and if he does, he will probably know how to fix it easily enough. This person will do well on the mandrel and probably there is no incentive to change from it.

I make 2 to 10 pens a month, when I have time. I have 5 mandrels, 3 A's and 2 B's besides owning a Beall setup that is adjustable. I haven't used one since I turned a duck call last spring. I have the means to choose - I can turn with a mandrel or mandrel-less. I will choose mandrel-less every day of the week because of less hassles, truer turning, no bushing sanding dust or stuck bushings on thick finishes.