Learning Turning

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

joe004

I am very new to pen turning, only having turned 3 successful pens. Are there any good books to get that would help explain methods of turning?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stonepecker

You can find all kinds of information right here. Go into the IAP library and start watching videos. Go to the library in your home town and start with the books there. Find a local mentor.
DO NOT SPEND ANY MONEY YET!!!
Any used book stores close to you? Check the gifts/want ads here and see if there are any here. Find a club and see if they have a library......Looking before buying is so much better. That way you get not only what you want but something you really need.

The mentor I found started me with a box of old magazines. Cost me nothing and he was done with them.

Welcome to the fun.

Last edited:

Edward Cypher

Welcome from Colorado. I think Stonepecker info is very correct! Find a club close to you and read and watch the stuff in the IAP library. The information here is tremendous and usually more up to date than a lot of the books. Enjoy the vortex and hold on to your money as long as you can, it will disappear soon enough in this hobby.

plantman