Learning to use my Woodchuck

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
So I was eager to have a go with my new Customised Woodchuck from Bob and Ken:biggrin:. But as a complete novice with this kind of tool, of course there was a little learning curve. Here's how I got on.

The very first thing I discovered was my original small toolrest on my poxy lathe wouldn't go low enough to get the cutter anywhere near the centre line:mad:
Ok, so I've wanted to make a nice round stainless one for years, so knocked one up from some pretty big bolts ( ignore my version of Bird Poop' welding)
I set this up to the instructions from Ken, but as you will see in the pics, I couldn't get a nice crater free surface. I'm sure as I practice, that I'll get nice long ribbons when I lower it. Or maybe someone can see what I was doing wrong from these pics:confused: But I do get short ribbons:biggrin:
I tilted the cutter to give a bit of a positive rake, above the centre line and the result was fantastic. I could easily start sanding from at least 600grit.
There are captions on the pics.
This little tool can eat blanks for breakfast, but I soon got over my nerves and eventually held it quite lightly. When I started, it was white knuckle time:redface:. For someone like me that has never learned to use a skew, it's a Godsend and I love it:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:
If I can, then ANYONE can:rolleyes:

Attachments

• 1OriginalToolPostTooTall.jpg
    1OriginalToolPostTooTall.jpg
    50.6 KB · Views: 238
  • 2NewToolPost.jpg
    2NewToolPost.jpg
    65.2 KB · Views: 232
  • 3TooLowDegRake.jpg
    3TooLowDegRake.jpg
    38.6 KB · Views: 242
  • 4ToolTooLowPosRake.jpg
    4ToolTooLowPosRake.jpg
    95 KB · Views: 249
  • 5WorksForMe.jpg
    5WorksForMe.jpg
    43.3 KB · Views: 237
  • 6TooLowChipped.jpg
    6TooLowChipped.jpg
    79.2 KB · Views: 227
  • 7BestFinishSoFar.jpg
    7BestFinishSoFar.jpg
    79.6 KB · Views: 240
  • 8PHVCentreDrilling.jpg