Lathe speed

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mdwilliams999

I am new to pen turning and having a lot of fun with it, but looking for some tips. I have a basic variable speed lathe - I believe it max's out at 3200 RPM. Is there any rules of thumb regarding the use of different speeds and its use?
For example:
Does a faster speed work for certain woods or is a "medium" speed better in most cases?
I'm using a CA finish, and thinking that a higher speed may harden the CA faster than a slower speed, but not sure?
Does a faster speed result in more wood tear-out, or is a dull chisel most likely the cause? I am having this problem on various woods.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

AKPenTurner

My lathe has a belt that you can switch to three different wheels to get three different speed ranges. I usually turn on the middle wheels. The ranges overlap some, I think the middle is something like 1400-2500, maybe a little higher.
That being said, I start rounding at the lower and then turn up high for the skew and sanding/finishing.
In my experience, dull chisels are more often the case for tear-outs, but I have had trouble with some woods (zebrawood in particular) tearing out even with sharp chisels. High speeds can be very aggressive, so the tear-outs would probably be worse at higher speeds.
Good luck!!

thewishman

Higher speed will fling the CA around much faster! I slow down to 1400 or so to sand and apply finishes. If your wood blanks are tearing out, your tools are dull. With sharp tools, speed will be your friend.

Chasper

I turn, sand and finish at high speed. I confirm your speculation about high speed causing the CA to set faster and harder. I almost never use accelerator when applying CA because pressure and speed harden, burnish and cure the CA quickly. You do have to be concerned drops of CA being flung out from the spinning lathe, but I've never experienced that problem.

JimB