Laguna Revo 18/36 Lathe-Recommendations?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SteveG

I am considering this Laguna lathe featured with an intro sale price at CSUSA website for $2160. It appears to be a decent machine at a competitive price for wood lathes in the same class. I have no experience with Laguna, but noted that the warranty period is one year...less than some competitor tool companies. My credit card company free warranty extension will help with that some.

I am wanting to start turning things larger than pens: moderate size hollow forms, turned boxes, etc. This I could do on my Delta Midi, but I may start looking toward larger turnings, and this lathe offers an optional 20" extension that will bolt on as a regular extension, or at a point 7" lower, effectively creating an outboard turning configuration with a 32" swing.

So, the reason for this post is to ask if anyone has any experiences (good or bad) relating to the company itself, and of course any direct experience with this specific lathe or it's close relative of the same size, but with a 2hp/220v motor. The one on sale that I am considering is 1.5 hp/110v.

Thank you in advance for any thoughts or comments you care to share, including any experience based suggestion to consider some other lathe that is in the same price range.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

southernclay

Steve I don't have any first hand experience with one of their lathes although several months ago a decent deal popped up on Craigslist in the area. I had no knowledge of Laguna lathes so started researching. The thing that stood out to me was their customer support didn't stand out as stellar. With a new model lathe and unknowns that would make me a little hesitant. It may have changed, improved etc and like I said no first hand experience but some due diligence may be wise.

However I'm pulling for you to get a bigger lathe and make some awesome stuff to show us!

duncsuss