Kitless Pen Makers are Awesome.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

firewhatfire

Unfortunately I am not one yet. :confused:

I have went for a 2nd attempt at it and I guess I need to back up and read some more. I think I made my feed section to long. as My Piston does not meet my housing to lock in. I also learned that the feed section must fit inside the cap.:redface:

I also am still having threading issues on my PR blanks. Should I just break down and buy some alumilite ones?

kitlessattempt004.jpg

kitlessattempt006.jpg

kitlessattempt002.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chrisk

Seems great to me. If I only could make one like yours... Not for use but to contemplate it...
As for the long section don't worry... even the expensive kits we're buying from some suppliers have this problem... yet to be resolved!
Personally I abandoned the converters. It's not the best, but is a solution!

PTownSubbie

Phil,

I am no expert as I have only created a couple but I would get some Alumilite as it makes it TONS easier to thread! I am going to give PR a shot in the summer when it is warmer out just to say I could as I have done it before but not while it is cold!

You are learning more than anyone can tell you! Believe me! I learned just like you have.....I have drawings upon drawings of the front section trying to determine lengths and dimensions.....Don't give up the Front Section is the hardest.

If you want to talk a little, PM me and I will send you my phone number. I say again...no expert but I have made about every mistake one can make.

Keep at it!

Fred

soligen

I recomend getting alumilite or PMMA (Lucite or equivalent). learn the more forgiving material, then try PR if you want.

You can also buy cheap clear acrylic rod to practice on - Texatdurango posted about this some time ago if you do a search. - I think it was from US Plastics

043Turning

when making threads in PR I find 80% threads work the best