Kind of embarrasing

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I am new to turning pens. I have made about 5 slimlines. They turned out ok, a little crooked but I love it! There is one problem. I am afraid of the lathe. I have never had anything happen to scare me but I am so nervous when I am turning. I want to make more projects but I can't get past it. Any suggestions?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
Welcome to IAP.:biggrin:

Even the biggest baddest macho men can have fear of a fast rotating machine. This is actually a very good thing because even as your confidence grows ( and it will ) you will still retain a respect for the machine.

Normally most people are wary around louder tools, like routers and table saws. But it is just your basic human instinct to look after itself.

NEVER loose that respect!!:wink:

Craftdiggity

You have to face your fears. LOL. Just keep turning. Pens are a great place to start since they are on a mandrel and it is a bit more controlled. Keep your tools sharp and take light cuts until you feel more comfortable with how things work.

As an aside, if your pens are turning out crooked, you might have the nut too tight. If you squeeze those bushings and blanks too tight, it will bend the mandrel slightly, and you will end up with one side of the blanks flush with the bushings, and the other side will be proud of the bushings. I loosen the nut up and just barely tighten it. This will also help you to take very light cuts, because if you take too aggressive a cut, you will stop the blank from spinning.

Chris

beck3906

You should always have respect for the tools you use and be aware of the inherent dangers they pose. Your comfort level with using tools only comes with practice and more use. Never let your comfort level become one of complacency as we'll read about you loosing a finger or other injury as some have shown recently.