Just Getting Started

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jeffgrig

I am new here and so happy I found this forum. I am brand new to pen turning I haven't bought squat yet, and am now researching tools and equipment and reading many posts here. I was a hobbyist woodworker but have never owner a lathe, so I have questions hopefully you nice folks can help me with:
To turn pens, do I need an aftermarket chuck? How about a 'live' center-whatever that is?

I plan to purchase a Jet benchtop drill press and mini lathe. I am currently negotiating with a guy on CL for a Jet 12x20, indexing lathe with Barracuda 2 chuck and few tools - $500. Does this seem reasonable?

Otherwise, it is a new Jet 10x14 VS for $529 from Amazon. I am excited to get going and want to start turning soon. Thanks for all your input.

Shorewood, IL

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jfoh

Pm me if you would be interested in a Craftsman 12" bandsaw with about half a dozen new blades, 15" Craftsman drill press and a starter lathe. I have several extra old lathes one of which might suit you while you are learning. Easy to move up later if you like the hobby. On top of that I have enough extra blanks that you will not lack for things to turn.

pm me at jfoh5914@aol.com or pm on this site.

glycerine

If you're getting a scroll chuck anyway, I would also get a jacobs chuck for the tailstock, skip getting the drill press and just drill on the lathe.
As far as the lathe, I don't think you could go wrong with either of those.

dbledsoe

I have the Jet 10x14VSI and I love it. The cost of the lathe is only a small fraction of what you will spend. Every time you blink, there will be a new too you just can't live without.