Ivory Pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Weim

I Have been making pens now for a couple of years and have made about 50-100 pens for gifts and such. I told myself I wanted to make a really nice pen and wanted to make one out of ivory. I found a website that will seel the ivory for a reasonable price. The questions I have are.

-What would you use to sand or finish the ivory?
-Any suggestions or tips on turning the ivory blank?
-Does heat bother the ivory like tuning snakewood and certain woods that like to crack?

Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Tim,

Ivory is a natural product (not a bulletin, I'm sure), but it IS very prone to cracking.

If you find a failsafe way to stop this, please let me know, I would LOVE to make ivory pens (and have made a couple with ivory inlay), but I don't want to sell a pen that has a good chance of cracking.

FWIW

Russianwolf

I have a pen that has a couple Ivory trim rings. Even doing my best to keep heat down (very sharp tools, light cuts, just working it for a minute then letting it rest, etc.) it still cracked several days later. And it didn't crack on the grain line either which surprised me.

The Ivory that I have is Mammoth, so it may vary a bit from elephant if that's what you can get. Being 10k years older may have some effect. So my only advice is to get some small pieces and work with it and see if you get the results you like before laying out big bucks for a solid blank.

BRobbins629

Passed Away Dec 28, 2021
In Memoriam