I've done Slim Line, now what should I do next?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi ya all. I'm new to this pen turning and I'm pretty much addicted to it already. I just got one of those little Jet 10x14 lathes with the variable speed and started out with turning the Slim Line pens on it. I've got those down pretty good and I'm ready to move on to some of the other styles but I'm not sure what to try next. Any suggestions out there?
Also I haven't done that much with wood working but I was a machinist for about 20 years. Till I blew out my neck and lower back ten years ago. I'm just now starting to be able to do some things and stumbled into this when looking for something else. I still have my machinist tools and my skills are a little rusty but its coming back to me.
And does anybody know where I can find some videos on making the more advanced pens? I'm sorta stumbling around in the dark here and any suggestions or info would be a big help.[:p]
Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

keithkarl2007

I think the Euro would be the next style up, involves a little more thought as a tenon needs to be turned to accept the centre band, or you could go without the centre band and turn your own. Theres more to the slimline if you tried to turn one without the centre band altogether and doing away with the clip also, just a thought

RussFairfield

Passed Away 2011
In Memoriam
Keep making SlimLine pens.
Go to my website for some variations on the kit that are easy to make. There is also a link to some videos that might help make it easier.

randyrls

Originally posted by ColoradoHermit

Hi ya all. I'm new to this pen turning and I'm pretty much addicted to it already.
Also I haven't done that much with wood working but I was a machinist for about 20 years.

And does anybody know where I can find some videos on making the more advanced pens? I'm sorta stumbling around in the dark here and any suggestions or info would be a big help.[:p]