inky subject

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

el_d

Im new to Fountain pens and have only used Private reserve mainly because of the price around $8-9 dollars a bottle. Pear tree has them along with other brands. Here in town there is a pen shop in the mall that sells the private reserve so when Im in the area I pick up a different color........

mrcook4570

There are many good brands - Waterman, Private Reserve, Noodlers, Diamine, Mont Blanc, J Herbin, Visconti, Conway Stewart, and many others. Just make sure the ink was designed for fountain pens. You will also find that one ink may perform differently in two different pens.

holmqer

Local Chapter Leader
There are many good ink makers, but each has their gem of an ink. For example for me Waterman is the best red ink, but I use Private Reserve for blue and green.

Dan_F

Check this out for more ink reviews than you can shake a pen at: Ink Reviews

There is also another ink forum there: Inky Thoughts

To summarize, there are many inks to chose from, but two basic categories: highly saturated for a more intensely colored line, or less saturated, for more of a muted, vintage appearance. The two most popular "upstart" companies featuring higher saturation inks are Private Reserve and Noodler's. The latter company also makes a line of truly archival inks, suitable for signing checks or contracts. The ink actually forms a chemical bond with the cellulose in paper, and can not be removed, even with bleach, ammonia, or other solvents. They are also highly resistant to fading due to UV light.

James at Peartree Pen has a trial program, and sells a 4 pack of small vials of any of the inks he carries, so you can try out a few different colors without spending a fortune.

My favorite blues are Noodler's Ottoman Azure, Visconti blue, and Noodler's Navajo Turquoise. These would all fall into the highly saturated category.

Have fun,

Dan

Firefyter-emt