I'm ready to buy a Beall 3 wheel thing - advice?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

karlkuehn

Banned
Hey, I've got my old variable speed shop fox that I'm not using at all since I got the Rikon, so I figured it was time to get it set up for buffing, since I'm doing stoppers and candles and stuff.

Anyone give me the skinny on the <s>best</s>cheapest place to get one, can I make one with a rod and some wheels, etc. Any thoughts are appreciated! I'm new to the buffing thing, but I like the results that I see, and it seems to be a lot faster than trying to sand all the little nooks and crannies with sandpaper.

Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stevers

I'm going to be fallowing you on this thread Karl. I'm looking right now too. I have an old spare grinder I want to convert. Thinking I will just go with the two wheels, WD and tripoli. I tend to use Ren wax on most of my stuff anyway.

rlharding

Hey Karl,
you don't need to get the Beall system to do a good buffing job. One of the main websites for wood turning has a tutorial on how to make your own system just from buying the buffing wheels. I am going to see if I can attach it. The wheels are all available from Caswell, and, Caswell have a lot of very, very useful information on their site regarding buffing, compounds, powder coating, etc.

All you need then is some threaded rod and nuts and washers.

I have several buffing wheels/balls that I mount in my drill chuck thingy that goes in the headstock. I do a batch of pens and then run them all through Tripoli, then through white diamond on another wheel, and then use carnuba wax as needed on a third. They take seconds to load on an off and cost me about $20. I think the buffing wheels are cheaper in the US.

Darn, everything I have ever tried to load is the wrong file type or too large. Send me your email address and I will send you the instructions if you wish.

karlkuehn

Banned