how is this connected?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from scjohnson243

scjohnson243

I admit it, I'm a real noob at this... I was looking for beginner projects I could start to do to work on my turning. I came across this guide on making "Mushrooms" I figured it was cute and I could give my wife a few for her garden or something... My silly question is how is this connected to the lathe? how is it connected to the headstock? I have a 4 claw chuck I think I can connect it with, but I'm confused because his looks like its screwed in...

Wood Turning Mushrooms: beginner's project

I was wanting to start trying some hollow forms but have not digested how to connect anything if the tailstock is not being used to put pressure on the headstock...

/scratches head...

I know he "Spells it out" but for someone that is just starting, I need it a little simpler (I know... I'm embarrased to ask)

I used to turn a tenon on the mushrooms, chuck them up and turn them, finishing off the cap on the lathe. Lately I find it just as easy and a touch faster to turn them between centers, pare off the top with a knife and cut the bottom on the bandsaw, and sand to finish. Here is one between centers, ready to go. I am not fussy about the piece being exactly centered since the sapling is not perfectly round and a bit off center lends character to the mushroom.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

southernclay

Don't be embarrassed...I've yet to meet anyone on here that was born with this knowledge.

It looks like he is using a spur center in the headstock and a 60 degree live center in the tailstock.

If you don't have these two items you will need them. Lots of turning supply places sell them. If you don't have a 60 degree dead center pick one of those up too (won't need for this)

Looks like a cool little project, I may have to try out sometime so thanks for posting!

monophoto