How do I read compass?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tommy2tone

Okay don't laugh to hard... I started playing this game called geocaching.. You get coordinates and find "treasure" in the woods. The thing is the website gives you the coordinates in latatude and longatude. I don't have a gps yet. How can I read a compass to head to say North 36 degrees 47.138 west 76 degrees 01.407? I understand the compass is in 360 degrees (and I get the N,S,W,E) but where is the 47.138? Tryed google but that just confused me more...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

nanosec12

your going to need an 'accurate' map AND a compass....

the degrees you were given are not directions on a compass, but rather degrees of latitude and longitude (those lines that make the squares on the map)

tommy2tone

That's what this protractor is for? I kind of remember doing something with this back in the Army in the 80's.

Attachments

• protractor.gif
    protractor.gif
    17.3 KB · Views: 129

alphageek

Former Moderator
Rather than buying a GPS - I strongly suggest spending the $10 on the geocaching app. I don't use anything else to geocache these days!

You can easily search nearby caches and it will replace the GPS function too.

navycop

Rather than buying a GPS - I strongly suggest spending the $10 on the geocaching app. I don't use anything else to geocache these days!

Yeah, Me and Jeff tried that. It showed a map that we were right on top of it. I didn't see were it gave the coordinates. We had them written down on a piece of paper. Maybe because we were using the Free one instead?

alphageek

Former Moderator

Yeah, Me and Jeff tried that. It showed a map that we were right on top of it. I didn't see were it gave the coordinates. We had them written down on a piece of paper. Maybe because we were using the Free one instead?